Chainsaw Jane by Marie-Jo Fortis

Image

 

Chainsaw Jane by Marie-Jo Fortis

Published: March 4th 2013

Pages: 297

Summary: When Dorothea Sishy disappears, the NYPD turns to Chainsaw Jane for help. Jane reads her tarrot cards and reads that Dorothea is not missing, but is in fact deceased. The NYPD asked where they could find the body and Jane gave them several locations as the body had been dismembered. The case turns urgent when Jane’s best friend, Cruz goes missing. It’s evident that the events are linked and the NYPD and Jane must work fast if they want to save Cruz’ life.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed how this book took a new spin on the murder mystery genre. I’ve never read or heard of a book like this and it was nicely done. Detectives turn to a psychic medium. That’s very creative. 

I also really enjoyed the character, Jane. She’s so different from any character I’ve read about before. She’s an old Russian who drinks vodka like water, smokes like a chimney, and curses profusely. She’s an old, rough, stubborn, psychic and I really enjoyed her character.

This story is a real page turner and does not disappoint. The only thing I would have liked to see was more mystery. As the reader, I felt a bit too informed. 

If you like murder mysteries, I definitely recommend you read this. It’s a unique story that I enjoyed. 

My Goodreads Rating: 4/5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

