Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

Image

Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

Published: July 20 2004 by Doubleday

Pages: 288

Summary: Dexter Morgan works as a blood splatter analyst by day and  serial killer by night! He has one rule and that is “he only kills bad people.” Dismembered body parts start to appear around Miami. Dexter visits the crime scene and discovers no blood and the body parts  wrapped in plastic. This is Dexter’s M.O. Dexter begins to feel that the killer is reaching out to him, like he’s trying to get Dexter to come out and play. 

My Thoughts: My cousin told me I should watch Dexter the television show – “It’s the best show in the world. You’ll love it!”. I looked up the television show and found out it was based off a series of books by Jeff Lindsay and I just had to read them! After I finish reading the series, I plan to watch the show. 

The whole idea of this book is amazing. You have Dexter, who works for the police, analyzing blood splatter, and then going out after work and killing the bad people. It’s so amazing and it’s really done right! Execution is truly amazing. I feel like it was an incredible start to the series and I hope the rest of them hold up as this one has. 

Loved the characters! I love how complex Dexter is. I love to hate Detective LaGuerta. Characters are so great.

I’m glad I started with the first in this series and didn’t jump to the 7th that is being released soon. This book gives a crucial back story for Dexter and if you’re considering reading this series, I suggest you start from the first. 

It’s a really great book. There are twists and it’s quite gripping! Also, serial killers, gore, mystery, crime, all of my favorite things!

I would suggest this to any crime/mystery lover. Anyone who loves the TV series, now that it was ended, it’s a perfect time to pick up the book series! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Goodreads Rating: 5/5.

Up Next: Either Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay or The Clearing by Dan Newman.  

One thought on “Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

  1. Pingback: DAY 13. – A book that disappointed you. | Curious Kindle Reader

Leave a Reply

