The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison

Image

 

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

Published: June 25, 2013 by Penguin Books

Pages: 326

Summary: Todd and Jodi are at a bad place in their marriage. Todd is a committed cheater and Jodi is in denial. Todd decides to make cheating his lifestyle forcing Jodi to take action. 

My Thoughts: This book has been compared to Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and it should not have been. As readers, we know that the book is always better than the movie adaption, so let us think of Gone Girl as the book and The Silent Wife as the movie. Gone Girl had you guessing till the very end and The Silent Wife told you everything and left nothing to be revealed. Definitely not a good comparison, in my opinion.

I found this book to be boring and predictable. It was an easy quick read, but it lacked a good story line. The story is told in alternating voices, switching between her and him. I feel like you were just reading each of their diaries. It was very plain and not interesting. 

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

There is a death in the book and it was written as if it were neither important nor significant. 

When you decide to read a thriller, you expect to feel a range of emotions, almost like riding the emotional roller coaster. With this book, that is not the case. It’s very bland and not exciting.

*END SPOILERS*

Maybe I was expecting too much going in? The Silent Wife being compared to Gone Girl is terrible and I think you should disregard that comparison. Unfortunately I did not like this book and I do not recommend it. 

My Goodreads Rating: 2/5. 

Up Next: Antigoddess by Kendare Blake. 

2 thoughts on “The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison

  1. I didn’t like it either. I didn’t think it was bad, necessarily, but completely mismarketed, and not the kind of book I would have picked up if I’d known what it really was… which is about as far from “chilling psychological thriller” as it gets.

Leave a Reply

