Asylum by Madeleine Roux

Image

 

Asylum Madeleine Roux

Published: August 2013 by Harper

Pages: 310

Summary: Dan Crawford is spending his summer at New Hampshire College Prep, a four week summer program. He quickly finds out the dorm building in which he’ll reside for the remainder of the summer used to be an asylum. Together, his friends, Abby and Jordan, help him explore the hidden recesses of their summer home, where there are secrets that refuse to stay buried. 

My Thoughts: Roux wrote a very clever story line for Asylum. The ending was tied up nicely and it was unpredictable. I wish the book had been more creepy than it was. Don’t get me wrong, it was certainly creepy, but I was just hoping for more. The writing flowed smoothly and was an easy read.   

I did not relate or connect to the main character, Dan. I felt like he wasn’t very complex. I liked Abby the best, she was adventurous, conflicted, determined. It seemed like she wanted answers more than anybody else. 

I really liked that Roux added photos. It gave life to the story. Incredible visual aids. The sources of the photos can be found in the back of the book and it’s interesting to see where they came from. 

I did enjoy this book. I would recommend this book to you if you like YA, YA thrillers, or any and all things to do with asylums. 

Check out Madeleine Roux on the Pitch Dark Dark Days Tour! 

pitchdark.com/darkdays

My Goodreads Rating: 3/5.

Up Next: The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison. 

2 thoughts on “Asylum by Madeleine Roux

Leave a Reply

