The Assassin and the Disciple by Virginia Austin

Image

 

The Assassin and the Disciple by Virginia Austin

Published: January 2013

Pages: 186

Summary: Brother and sister, Isaac and Sarah are separated after their fathers’ death. The story begins eighteen years later when the Disciple escapes from a psychiatric hospital and goes on a gruesome killing spree in the name of the Lord. The Assassin, now a physicist, has concocted his mastermind plan. They both meet again for a truly apocalyptic conclusion. 

My Thoughts: Whoa. Just whoa. 

This book is formatted so you alternate between the Disciple and the Assassins timelines. I found myself looking forward to the Disciple chapters and not so much the Assassin.

The Assassins chapters dragged on. The Assassin was preparing his plan, but you know nothing of the plan or what he’s doing, so that made it quite frustrating for me. I don’t like not knowing what is going on.

I enjoyed the Disciple chapters because of the gruesome killings. I don’t agree with the reasons why the Disciple decided to murdered, but I’ll tell you they were creative and quite graphic.

I need to mention the writing style. This book was beautifully written. It was like reading a 186 page poem! Not thinking about the actual story at the moment, I would want to read another Virginia Austin novel just for the writing style!

I liked this book. I liked the gore, I liked the back story of the brother and sister,  and I loved the writing. However, I felt like the ending fell short. I remember reading about this book and the ending was really talked up. Perhaps I expected too much, perhaps I imagined it different, I don’t know, I just felt like there could have been so much more to it.

I would recommend this book to you if you like apocalyptic thrillers, if you enjoy religious novels, and if you like a well worded book.

*SLIGHT SPOILER* Warnings: I would not recommend this book to you if you do not like gory murders or if you can not handle rape.

My Goodreads Rating: 3/5.  

Leave a Reply

