Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed: Growing Up with Undiagnosed Autism by Jeannie Davide-Rivera.

Image

 

Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed: Growing Up with Undiagnosed Autism by Jeannie Davide-Rivera

Published: April 2013

Pages: 200

Summary: This is the story of Jeannie. We follow her through her,what seems to be, never ending struggles and challenges of growing up with undiagnosed autism. Starting at age 3 and going until age 38 when she receives her diagnosis. 

My Thoughts: Reading a memoir is the equivalent to reading someone’s diary. You put yourself out there and you are completely exposed to all the world. This memoir was a difficult read for me for two reasons, one because I have a similar story and most of the situations/struggles talked about hit home for me, and two because as I mentioned earlier, it’s like a diary and at parts the pace is a bit slow.

I have also have autism and didn’t find out until a few years ago, so I understood what Jeannie was going through and what she continues to go through. I ended up learning a little something too. I didn’t know that this was a symptom of Autism, but in the book, Jeannie talks about how she would get lost all the time, even when it was a regularly visited location, it’s called Place-Blindness. I knew that that was a trouble area for me, but I never knew it was associated with my Autism. So this book not only gives you insight into the mind of an “Aspie” as Jeannie words it, but you’ll also learn a few things about Autism/Aspergers Syndrome. 

This story starts with Jeannie at age 3 and follows her until she is diagnosed with Autism at age 38. Prepare for the emotional rollercoaster ride you’re about to board. I laughed, I cried, I was frustrated with her teachers and her doctors, and I was beyond ecstatic once she was diagnosed. 

This book will put you inside the mind of growing up without a proper diagnosis. The trouble from her parents, teachers, doctors, and peers. I really enjoyed taking this journey with Jeannie and I think you will too. It is a very good triumphant read. I would gladly recommend this book to everyone and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 

My Goodreads Rating: 4/5. 

One thought on “Twirling Naked in the Streets and No One Noticed: Growing Up with Undiagnosed Autism by Jeannie Davide-Rivera.

  1. Place-Blindess! Oh my gosh, I do that so often and I never knew how to ariculate it. Definitely a must-read, then.
    I didn’t mind David Sedaris’ “Look Me in the Eyes.” He veers off a lot but gives a very basic definition that helps me explain to others.

Leave a Reply

